USAGM recognizes courage and journalistic excellence at its 23rd annual David Burke Awards

May 10, 2024

The United States Agency for Global Media (USAGM) celebrated courage and journalistic excellence during the 23rd annual David Burke Distinguished Journalism Awards today. 

“Amid rising threats to press freedom, this year’s Burke honorees epitomize the courage and resilience that’s needed to deliver objective, truthful reporting to audiences without a free press,” said USAGM CEO Amanda Bennett. “It is a privilege to work alongside these remarkable journalists, who work tirelessly, often at tremendous risk to their own safety and wellbeing, to inform, connect and engage people around the world in support of freedom and democracy.”  

The winners, representing each of USAGM’s five broadcast networks, are:

Middle East Broadcasting Networks
Alhurra Television Correspondents Wesam M.H. Yasin and Saif R. J. Alswaitti, as well as Videographer/Editor Amir S.A. Altorok, for their courage and dedication to reporting on the war in Gaza, despite great personal risks.

Radio Free Asia
The entire team at RFA’s Asia Fact Check Lab, including Director C.T. Lee, Reporter Rita Cheng, Reporter/Translator Chase Bodiford, and Editor Taejung Kang, for their work countering misinformation by the PRC, particularly during Taiwan’s presidential election.

Voice of America
VOA Kurdish Service Contributor Newroz Rasho for her dedication to providing reliable and accurate news while navigating life in a Syrian camp for internally displaced people.

Office of Cuba Broadcasting
Journalist Ricardo Quintana and Videographer Jesus Acosta for their critical work providing fact-based reporting for Cuban audiences about the immigration crisis on the U.S. southern border for Cuban audiences. 

Radio Free Europe/Radio Liberty
Veteran Tatar-Bashkir ServiceJournalist Alsu Kurmasheva for her dedication to journalism and her courage and determination during her unjust imprisonment in Russia.

Alsu’s husband and Current Time Director, Pavel Butonin, accepted the award on her behalf.

The award, named for the Broadcasting Board of Governors’ founding chairman David Burke, is given to journalists from each of USAGM’s media networks. An archive of previous winners can be found at 

Originally published at

Previous articleHashMatrix, the Growth Partner for the Top 1% Tech Products
Next articleAuthor Michael Randolph Boozer’s New Book, ‘Ernie the Unusual Elephant’ is a Delightful Tale That Shows How Being Different Can Be Good